Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Under fire from artillery/mortars? Quick question

Mentioned
    29 Post(s)

Under fire from artillery/mortars? Quick question

For our ground pounder folk in the army/marines and other branches..

In many Hollywood films and TV shows (like band of brothers), we continually see artillery shell/mortar shells impact "Preceded" by a whistle like sound, warning our "heroes" of said incoming fire.

But is that realistic, or done just for the shows?

Has anyone here ever been under fire and can comment on whether they heard anything before the big boom!

Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Blog Entries
    Not that I can recall. But then, my hearing started to fail from the exposure to small arms fire, from when I was a Drill Instructor. Wearing ear plugs at that time in my life was excruciating. My ear canals were super sensitive. So, I didn't wear ear plugs at that time. If mortar rounds made any noise while incoming, which I encountered after being a DI, I couldn't hear the noise. I would have been a bad choice if I were picked to go to a listening post, to be sure!
    Last edited by UncaRastus; 02-15-2015 at 05:08 PM.

Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    You can.

Artillery doesn't sound like the movies, it is a deeper sound, like a rumble ... not a whistle. The only time I have heard it was during a training exercise where I was forward of the firing battery and within about 100 yd perpendicular of the impact.

LGB's make a similar sound, it is a deep rumble.

Mortar rounds are a bit higher pitched but the sound is quieter than artillery.

For the most part once we knew we were getting attacked things got kind of loud and I didn't pay much attention if I could hear the incoming mortar fire over the sound of small arms.
    The most important six inches on the battlefield is between your ears.

Senior Member Absinthe Anecdote's Avatar
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stalwart View Post
    You can.