Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Vets die, waiting for treatment. Yet another failure at a VA hospice

Mentioned
    29 Post(s)

Vets die, waiting for treatment. Yet another failure at a VA hospice

I wonder if cause of the Feres doctrine, these docs and the others at the VA will be held accountable/get sued..

http://www.cnn.com/2014/04/23/health...ays/index.html

Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

Re: Vets die, waiting for treatment. Yet another failure at a VA hospice

Feres states: "... the United States is not liable under the Federal Tort Claims Act for injuries to members of the armed forces sustained while on active duty and not on furlough and resulting from the negligence of others in the armed forces."

The Department of Veterans Affairs is not part of the DoD / Armed Forces ... I am not a lawyer, but my guess would be be that the survivors may have grounds to sue.

EDIT: A quick Google seach shows many instances where people have successfully sued the VA.

Mentioned
    29 Post(s)

Re: Vets die, waiting for treatment. Yet another failure at a VA hospice

AH. I was thinking that Feres would protect these putzes like it does AD doctors.

Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Va Secretary Shinseki testified before the Senate Veteran's Affairs Committee today, I watched part of it and it did seem that both Republicans and Democrats were very critical of the VA.

What is troubling me about the further developments in this case, is that the "secret waiting list" seems to have been used (in a very similar format & fashion) at more than one VA medical center; this makes me think that either more that one person in the system has a good idea on how to do a bad thing, or there was some sort of collusion about how to hide the fact that patients were not being served appropriately and within the standing policies.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stalwart View Post