PDA

View Full Version : WAPS Test Study Techniques

giggawatt
05-20-2014, 07:58 PM
What are some techniques you guys use to study for your WAPS test? How long out do you start studying? What do you do on your study day off before the test?

sandsjames
05-20-2014, 08:10 PM
What are some techniques you guys use to study for your WAPS test?
Most of the time spent on PFE. One book vs 8 books for the same points seemed to make sense. I preferred PFE Gold test questions, then reviewing the areas I had trouble in.

How long out do you start studying? About 3 months. I found that if I studied any longer I got bored, washed out.

What do you do on your study day off before the test? Absolutely nothing related to the test. As a matter of fact, I wouldn't study at all the week before. I do believe that certain people can be "overly prepared". I found that once I was comfortable with the stuff, continuing to study could do more harm than good.

Measure Man
05-20-2014, 09:59 PM
What are some techniques you guys use to study for your WAPS test?

For the SKT, the single MOST important thing you can do is to devote the day AFTER you test to go through your books and highlight the answers to the test you just completed. This few hours will be the most productive study time you will ever do.

The SKT test retains at least 50% of the questions (major re-write) from year to year and as high as 75% of the questions (minor re-write). Unless you've had a major change in the reference material (new CDCs), the tests alternate between a major and minor re-write every other year. Meaning, if you did nothing else but remember the questions from previous year and manage to get only half the remainder correct, you are looking a score in the range of 75-87...well above average.