PDA

View Full Version : Odds of making OTS

Gotrek
05-16-2013, 02:44 AM
I would like a realistic assessment on my odds of making OTS. Unfortunately I chose this path too late and am not a part of ROTC.

I am studying for a BS in electrical engineering with a 3.15 GPA. I have a decent amount of community service and am a varsity athlete. I participate in several engineering clubs that do community service projects. I would consider my prior work experience to be strong. I will be applying for a non rated but technical position.

I got my AFOQT scores back a few days ago and received the following:
Pilot: 95 Navigator: 87 Academic Aptitude: 98 Verbal: 88 Quantitative: 97

From searching online I have seen a lot of mixed results about how competitive OTS is, ranging from 6% acceptance rates upwards to over 50%. Do the acceptance rates vary that much or am I very misinformed?

Any thoughts or questions are more than welcome!

-Gotrek

RobotChicken
05-16-2013, 02:48 AM
:spy Saw they were looking for 'a few good missile silo officers' ready to snap to attention and nuke a billion people at the drop of a hat......:behindsofa

Gotrek
05-16-2013, 02:49 AM
I don't see myself wanting a family in the foreseeable future. I also think that the military can provide me with a lot of things that I am looking for such as (hopefully) interesting work, self discipline, and the ability to travel around the world, among other things.

Gotrek
05-16-2013, 02:51 AM
Haha I heard about that debacle.

Tak
05-16-2013, 02:52 AM
Appears like your a decent candidate, but why not stay civilian, get a good job where you want to raise a family.

Gotrek
05-16-2013, 02:55 AM
Seems like I accidentally posted twice. Sorry, new here.

Gotrek
05-16-2013, 02:57 AM
Haha I heard about that debacle.

RobotChicken
05-16-2013, 03:10 AM
:spy 'BUFF' that 'SILO'.......:lol

Tak
05-16-2013, 03:15 AM
Seems like I accidentally posted twice. Sorry, new here.

travel?

In 20 years Ive been to 3 bases.

BOSS302