PDA

View Full Version : You hear Retreat playing, so what do you do?

FLAPS
04-07-2013, 12:17 PM
You're playing golf on a course adjacent to the base and you hear the music loud and clear.

Do you play the "I'm a UC-Berkeley grad, leave me alone" card, or do you stop what you're doing an face the music?

Do you pretend the group on the hole behind you are Muslim extremists who would be "offended," so you keep moving, or do you stop and face the music?

Always seemed awkward to hear the music, but not be "technically" on base to act.

CrustySMSgt
04-07-2013, 12:25 PM
Definitely an awkward situation, would be similar to walking by a baseball stadium and hearing the national anthem playing. Call me a commie bastard, but if I'm not in the "venue" the music is playing for (i.e., the base or baseball stadium), then I'm going with pressing on with what you're doing.

Pullinteeth
04-07-2013, 12:54 PM
Depends how drunk I am?

JD2780
04-07-2013, 01:02 PM
You're playing golf on a course adjacent to the base and you hear the music loud and clear.

Do you play the "I'm a UC-Berkeley grad, leave me alone" card, or do you stop what you're doing an face the music?

Do you pretend the group on the hole behind you are Muslim extremists who would be "offended," so you keep moving, or do you stop and face the music?

Always seemed awkward to hear the music, but not be "technically" on base to act.

I still stop what I'm doing.

Pullinteeth
04-07-2013, 01:19 PM
Depends how drunk I am?

Stalwart
04-07-2013, 03:51 PM
Me, I would face the music and render appropriate honors.

RobotChicken
04-07-2013, 04:04 PM
:hat :amen 'Stalwart' :usa2

RobotChicken
04-07-2013, 07:41 PM
:hat In a 'Golf Cart'?

JD2780
04-07-2013, 07:47 PM
If I'm off base then I'm not stopping what I'm doing. I wouldn't stop my car in the middle of the road offbase, so I wouldn't stop on a golf course adjacent to the base.

Because its a golf cart on a golf course. Not a main road with heavy traffic.

JD2780